History - Lalit Narain Tirhut Mahavidyalaya

A Glorious Past

  • Established in the year 1967

    Lalit Narain Tirhut Mahavidyalaya has a glorious past. The college was established in the year 1967, named Tirhut Mahavidyalaya by the vigorous effort of it founder members, under the leadership of the then Railway Minister, great visionary and social worker Late Lalit Narain Mishra.But after the assassination of Pandit L.N. Mishra in 1975 a special and urgent meeting was held on 8th January 1975, under the presidentship of Sri Radha Mohan Shukla in which a resolution was adopted to express its deepest sance of sorrow and on record its profound brief over the sad and untimely demise under tragic circumstances of Sri Lalit Narain Mishra, Railway Minister.

    The Committee considered the resolution which was moved by Sri Radha Mohan Shukla, president of the meeting for re-naming Tirhut Mahavidyalaya, Muzaffarpur, which was unanimously accepted and therefore resolved that Tirhut Mahavidyalaya be re-named as Lalit Narain Tirhut Mahavidyalaya, Muzaffarpur. Seeking the approval of the University with immediate effect. Very shortly the university was accepted the request and approved its name as Lalit Narain Tirhut Mahavidyalaya.

    Lalit Narain Tirhut Mahavidyalaya affiliated to Bihar University in june 1982.